

CONTACT

Scott Johnson Executive Secretary Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

News Release

Oelwein FFA Named 2015 Iowa FFA Supreme National Chapter

ANKENY - The Iowa FFA Supreme National Chapter Award Program will be held during the 87th Iowa FFA Leadership Conference in Ames, on April 19-21, 2015. 31 chapters participated in this year's award program. The first place chapter for the event was the Oelwein FFA Chapter. The Agricultural Education Instructors/FFA Advisors are Mr. Michael Haden and Mr. Daniel Doeing. The second place chapter for the event was the West Liberty FFA Chapter. The Agricultural Education Instructors/FFA Advisors are Mr. Dick Brand and Mr. Zach Morris.

The National Chapter Award program encourages participating chapters to plan activities and carry them out with a successful Program of Activities. Chapters are recognized for outstanding achievement in the areas of Student Development, Chapter Development, and Community Development. The National Chapter Awards are sponsored by John Deere as a special project of the National FFA Foundation.

Three FFA Chapters were recognized for outstanding achievement in the three development areas. The Oelwein FFA Chapter was named the winner in Student Development as well as the top chapter in Chapter Development. The West Liberty FFA Chapter was named the top Community Development Chapter. The top 22 FFA Chapters in Iowa will advance to the National FFA competition and will be recognized at the 88th National FFA Leadership Conference in Louisville, KY.

A complete list of results is included on page two of this release.

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,600 student members as part of 225 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.



CONTACT

Scott Johnson Executive Secretary Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

Chapter Name	Chapter PO	Rating	Rank	Winners
				Overall Winner
Oelwein	Oelwein	Gold	2	Chapter and Student Development
West Liberty	West Liberty	Gold		Community Development
Vinton-Shellsburg	Vinton	Gold	3	
North Linn	Troy Mills	Gold	4	
Wapsie Valley	Fairbank	Gold	5	
Decorah	Decorah	Gold	6	
Wapello	Wapello	Gold	7	
Tall Corn	Latimer	Gold	8	
Griswold	Griswold	Gold	9	
Mid-Prairie	Wellman	Gold	10	
Sibley-Ocheyedan	Sibley	Gold	11	
Westwood	Sloan	Gold	12	
Jesup	Jesup	Gold	13	
AGWSR	Ackley	Gold	14	
Nashua-Plainfield	Nashua	Gold	15	
North Fayette Valley	West Union	Gold	16	
Marengo	Marengo	Gold	17	
Benton Community	Van Horne	Gold	18	
Waverly-Shell Rock	Waverly	Gold	19	
Brokaw	Clarinda	Gold	20	
La Porte-Dysart	La Porte City	Gold	21	
West Delaware	Manchester	Gold	22	
Creston	Creston	Gold		
Central Plains	Gowrie	Gold		
Audubon	Audubon	Gold		
Belmond-Klemme	Belmond	Silver		
Newton	Newton	Silver		
Monticello	Monticello	Silver		
Okoboji	Millford	Silver		
Central Trail	Leon	Bronze		
Guthrie Center Tiger	Guthrie Center	Bronze		